Check Online Before You Buy

It amazes me, how some gun stores charge the prices they do. I always try to stop in an area gunshop when I am in the neighborhood. I check out there firearm prices and look at the prices and availability of their ammo. Some ammo is three times what you can buy it online for, and that’s with shipping . Firearm prices are easily 50-70% over what a purchase online will bring. Look at the different dealers online and check various online ammo stores. I won’t plug any in particular, because there are so many  out there, not to mention the online auction sites. I have saved soooo much  buying online. Of course buying a firearm involves getting an FFL dealer involved, but they will usually be very fair on a fee for that. Now in defense of the local shop, they do have real overhead to maintain, employees to pay, but so does the online guys. About the only advantage,  is you get what you want quicker.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

2 Comments on “Check Online Before You Buy”

  1. andy Says:

    I’ve gone back and forth on this issue. My cinclusion is if I can find it locally for 15% more. I’ll buy it locally. Of course this varies for each person. A 500$ glock online plus 25 shipping and a 25 dollar FFL fee is 10% so you can usually haggle a dealer down a bit. I’ve been able to get tax included in the quoted price a few times.

    I feel bad not supporting the locals, but within reason.

  2. theotherryan Says:

    I think shopping around both locally and online is essential. Where I lived last one big gun shop would really rip people off on ammo. The other couple smaller shops sold it at fair prices.

    As you mentioned brick and mortar local stores have a lot of overhead which a big mail order dealer doesn’t. The one thing that makes online buying for a lot of folks is the high shipping costs for ammo. They make it prohibitive to buy a couple hundred rounds or even as much as a half case. It is probably best to buy in full cases from online dealers whenever possible. This requires planning and saving which some people can have a hard time with.

    For local stores with sane prices the premium over buying from a bigger guy and having it shipped could be considered a convenience fee.


Leave a Reply

